I just got my wife a Kindle Fire for Christmas.   First, I synchronized my “My Kindle Content” directory with hers using Chronosync (I also synchronize our Calibre directories which contain my DRM cleaned up files – that is an extra backup).   Then I downloaded the Kindle application for her Mac and registered both it and her Kindle Fire.   She got some books for Christmas – some of which were DRM protected.   (I find that out by loading them to Calibre and trying to convert them).    I tried running DeDRM on these books using the latest .azw files in the Kindle directories.   I get messages such as “Couldn’t decode A Tangled Web (A Tale of the Five Hundred Kingdoms) – Lackey, Mercedes.  Do you have another PID to try?   I don’t.   K4MobiDeDrm v4.4 can’t find a keky in 8 keys found.   Please report this failure for help.

She has Lion (her computer is too old for Mountain Lion).   My computer is one year newer and has Mountain Lion.

Here’s my DeDRM.log:

There is 1 ebook to be decrypted.
Processing file: A Tangled Web (A Tale of the Five Hundred Kingdoms) – Lackey, Mercedes.azw
shellcommand: python ‘/Applications/DeDRM 5.3.1.app/Contents/Resources/k4mobidedrm.py’ ‘/Users/HBrazee/Documents/DRM/A Tangled Web (A Tale of the Five Hundred Kingdoms) – Lackey, Mercedes.azw’ ‘/Users/HBrazee/Desktop/’ > ‘/Users/HBrazee/Library/Preferences/com.apprenticealf.dedrm/DeDRM_temp.log’
shellresult: Using Library AlfCrypto DLL/DYLIB/SO
K4MobiDeDrm v4.4 provided by the work of many including DiapDealer, SomeUpdates, IHeartCabbages, CMBDTC, Skindle, DarkReverser, ApprenticeAlf, etc .
MobiDeDrm v0.37. Copyright 2008-2012 The Dark Reverser et al.
MOBI header version = 8, length = 248
Extra Data Flags = 3
Processing Book:  A Tangled Web (A Tale of the Five Hundred Kingdoms)
Found k4Mac kinf2011 file: /Users/HBrazee/Library/Containers/com.amazon.Kindle/Data/Library/Application Support/Kindle/storage/.kinf2011
Found k4Mac kinf2011 file: /Users/HBrazee/Library/Application Support/Kindle/storage/.kinf2011
No k4Mac kindle-info/kinf/kinf2011 files have been found.
Using Munged MAC Address for ID: a58697a73378
Using Munged MAC Address for ID: a58697a73378
Using Munged MAC Address for ID: a58697a73378
Using Munged MAC Address for ID: a58697a73378
Crypto Type is:  2 K4MobiDeDrm v4.4
Error: No key found in 8 keys tried. Please report this failure for help.
DRM Removal Failed.

There was an error with 1 ebook:
A Tangled Web (A Tale of the Five Hundred Kingdoms) – Lackey, Mercedes.azw couldn’t be decoded:
K4MobiDeDrm v4.4
Error: No key found in 8 keys tried. Please report this failure for help.
DRM Removal Failed.

